Join   |   Login   |   View Cart   |   Check Out   |   Order Status   |  
NEW BB SHOP          Home          About Us          Administration          Resources          News          Contact Us         

About Malaysia - National Flag

Jalur Gemilang
The national flag of Malaysia consists of 14 horizontal red and white stripes (along the fly) of equal width, representing the equal membership in the federation of the 13 component States Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Malacca, Negri Sembilan, Pahang, Pulau Pinang, Perak, Perlis, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor and Terengganu and the Federal Government. The union or canton of dark blue in the upper quarter next to the staff and extending down to the top of the fifth stripe stands for the unity of the peoples of Malaysia. The union contains a crescent which is the symbol of Islam. The 14 points of the star are emblematic of the unity of the 13 States and the Federal Government. The yellow of the crescent and the star is the royal colour of Their Royal Highnesses the Rulers.

The Amorial Ensign (or National Ensign)
The 14-point star represents the equal membership of the 13 States, (the 14th point represents the Federal Government) while the star and crescent form the traditional symbol of Islam. The five krisis represent the five former Unfederated Malay States (Johor, Kedah Perlis, Kelantan and Trengganu). The left-hand division of the shield represents the State of Penang and the right-hand section, showing the Malacca Tree, the State of Malacca. In the four equal-sized panels in the centre. the colours black and white are the colours of Pahang. red and yellow are the colours of Selangor; black, white and yellow are the colours of Perak. red, black and yellow are those of Negri Sembilan. These four States formed the original Federated Malay States. The three sections below represent the States of Sabah on the left, and Sarawak on the right. The centre contains the National Flower, the Bunga Raya (hibiscus). The tigers depicted as supporters in the Arms of the former Federated Malay States are retained. The motto in romanised script on the left and Jawi script on the right-Bersekutu Bertambah Mutu-is the Malay equivalent of 'Unity is Strength'. The yellow colour of the scroll is the Royal colour of Their Royal Highnesses the Rulers.